Rookie Rhubarb & Ginger Jam

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with our allotment grown Rhubarb for the last few weeks, as Mr O can’t eat the stuff.  I settled on jam, as I figured I could eat this at my leisure, or give it away if it turned out, well, like jam.  After doing a bit of research, I combined a couple of recipes to make what I can now proudly call ‘Rookie Rhubarb and Ginger Jam’.  Here’s what I did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rookie Rhubarb and Ginger Jam – ingredients (makes approx 4 jars) :

1kg sugar
800g Rhubarb (this equates to around 9 sticks of varied length and width.  I somehow managed to come home with exactly the right amount, something I fear I wouldn’t be able to repeat !)
1 tbsp lemon juice
125g root ginger
150ml Certo (liquid pectin)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cut the Rhubarb into half cm chunks, and layer with the sugar in a large pan.  Leave this overnight, until all the juices are drawn out of the Rhubarb and it resembles Rhubarb soup the following day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next day, add the lemon juice and the root ginger (peeled and grated).  Cook on a low heat for 40 minutes until it resembles a brown, glossy, sweet smelling stew.  Then boil up for 5 minutes until the setting point is reached.  If using liquid pectin this is added at this point, then the jam is boiled for a couple of minutes until the setting point is reached.  I used Certo for the first time in this recipe (normally relying on the cold saucer in the fridge technique with varied success rates) and it worked really well.  Pour into sterilized jars and label with pride.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eat with a big spoon !

Leave a Reply

